31DFWC1 Entry 29

<- Previously

On that day at school, everyone were exchanging thanking gifts. Some people were happily smiling, others would flee, crying. Being rejected was always the biggest danger when offering chocolates on Valentine’s. Be it a boy or a girl, it would always hurt as much.

Jeremy gave Kath a poster of her favorite Tv show while Jacob gave him a cheap chocolate bar as a form of vengeance. The both of them laughed a lot over it and people started to call Jeremy “Mister Cheapy Pants” because all his thanking gift sucked as much.

After a long day heavy in emotions, every student went back home, either enjoying their new found love or feeling lonely and rejected. Jacob walked next to Kath. They were both awfully quiet and the silence made Jacob incredibly nervous.

When they finally arrived at Jacob’s home, they came in to find his mother on the couch. She welcomed Kath with a nod and a smile but not much more and they quickly went up the stairs.

Kath sat on the edge of the bed while Jacob sat at his desk’s chair. They both stayed silent for a moment before Jacob sighed.

-“Sorry, my mom is really hopeless…” He finally said. Kath shook her head.

-“It’s okay. Don’t mind it.” She said in a little voice.

-“Ah~ Let’s see.” Jacob said, looking around for a second. “I know you like roses. I actually wanted to give you a potted plant but I didn’t know if it’d be convenient for you so…” He said, finally turning around with a small bouquet of red roses. “Now you know why it might have been misunderstood at school. People don’t know how you like them.”

Jacob handed the bouquet to Kath who hesitated before grabbing it and bringing it to her nose. Her eyes shone as she smelled them and she quietly observed everyone of them with attention.

-“Oh, right. People might have thought you’re actually a romantic, Jay. How disastrous~” Kath said sarcastically with a grin and he frowned at her words.

-“Hey~ That’s not very nice.” He said then grinned as well. “Where’s my gift, then?”

-“That’s~ You said~” Kath started, taken by surprise.

-“You don’t have one?” Jacob asked, getting on his feet. “Ah~ That’s good then. You actually listened to me.” He finally said as he sat on the bed next to Kath. “That means I can ask for one.” He chuckled and Kath recoiled, frowning.

-“Huh?” Kath stared at him for a moment. He grinned maliciously and pointed at his cheek. Kath seemed to think for a moment before she looked horrified. “You want~”

-“I think that’s a good payment.” He said. “It’s cheap too. I’m pretty sure it’s worth less than those roses.”

-“So, my kiss are cheap for you?” Kath said angrily.

-“A kiss on the cheek is cheap. Besides, I’m only doing it to torture you a bit.”

-“You think it’s funny?” She looked even more mad.

-“Yes.” He said with a chuckle. “Actually, I think this is the perfect thanking gift.”

-“You’re actually serious?” She scoffed.

Jacob raised an eyebrow and tapped on his cheek with his finger again. His grin was wicked which made it even harder for Kath to muster the courage to do it.

-“Just so you know, I’m doing it because you’re a very close friend.” Kath said bashfully.

She approached carefully. Jacob was looking the other way and so she felt a little less nervous. Her lips was about to touch his skin when he suddenly turned around. Her mouth was instead met with his and her heart fled from her chest. She felt all the blood contained in her body raise to her face and she recoiled, gasping for air.

-“W-w-w-wh~” Was the only thing that came out of her mouth as she stared at Jacob who stared back with a satisfied smile on his lips.

-“Mh… Now that’s worth much more than a few flowers.” He said while getting up. “I think I might be in your dept…” He laughed and sat back into his chair.

Kath choked on her words and coughed. She brought her knees over or face to shield it. Her eyes were so wide they seemed ready to fall from their sockets.

-“Y-you~” She finally said. Jacob was done laughed and he looked down at his feet. “You’d planned this.” She muttered.

-“Yeah.” He said in a low growl. “You wanted to talk. I’m listening.”

Kath stayed silent for a moment. She closed her eyes and took a deep breath before reopening them.

-“Jay? Do you like me?” She finally asked.

-“Oh~ I’m busted.” Jacob answered.

His eyes slowly slipped to her. After all his preparation, he felt normal telling her that. From the outside at least.

-“How can you be so calm? You’re… Are you sure you’re not feverish again?” She asked and he chuckled.

-“If you think I’m calm, you’re wrong.” He said, getting up to approach her.

She recoiled and he hesitated but kept going. He sat next to her once more, grabbed her  by the shoulder and brought her to his chest. She stayed quiet for a moment before raising her head to look at him.

-“That’s not normal… Are you sure you’re not dying?” She said nonchalantly though her voice was shaking with nervousness.

-“I can manage my face but that’s really just a facade.” He murmured. “I don’t think my heart can do the same.” He got up again, turning his back on Kath to look out the window. “Sorry I didn’t use words. I don’t think I could have done it…” He trailed off and sighed. “Actually, I thought you would slap me… Now I don’t really know what to do anymore.”

-“That’s mean, Jacob… You can’t just go around and steal kisses like that.” He heard her say from behind. “Ah~ I’d prepared that speech for so long but now it seems really pointless…” She trailed off. “After I got jealous on Valentine’s I decided to think about it… Ah~ My brain won’t think anymore…” She went quiet again and the silence came, making the air heavy and crushing. “Jay, can you sit? Your back is making me even more nervous than your face for some reason.”

-“Ah, right…” He said in a sigh.

His voice was even lower than usual and it took Kath by surprise. Slowly he turned around and sat. His green eyes were furrowed and he brought his hand to his lips, visibly spaced out. Kath observed him for a moment. Even sitting in his big desk’s chair, he looked tall and his shoulders were broad. His hair fell before his eyes as he tilted his head.

In an instant, Kath got up from the bed and walked up to him, her hands closed into fist and a fierce determination in her eyes. She lower herself to his face and kissed him.

-“If you won’t use words, I won’t either. Now we’re even.” She said, her eyes still dipped in his.

Jacob’s mouth opened a little in surprised before curling into a smile.

-“I don’t think so.” He growled as he came to his feet, grabbing Kath in his arms as he got up. “If you keep it up, I’ll get greedy.” She heard him say.

-“I don’t mind.” She said in a petite voice before circling her arms around his back to embrace him.

Next ->

One thought on “31DFWC1 Entry 29

  1. We’re wrapping it up. It was actually pretty hard to do this Entry with so little words. I should have gone for a 2 part but oh well, it’s too late now.

    Like

Leave a Reply

