Tonari no Kaibutsu-kun (Quick Review)

It is finally here !! Yes it means I have read the whole thing. Onward!!

Tonari no Kaibutsu-kun is a romance anime based on the manga of the same name. It is a very strange story about a boy that falls for a girl (well, he’s not sure though…).

Story wise it was good. The anime is mostly the same as the manga (I mean up until chapter 17 anyway). The characters are nice and lovable. (The anime is kinda far away, so if I miss something don’t hesitate to comment on this)

Artistically speaking, this anime is okay but it’s not anything out of the ordinary, it’s still pretty though.

now to the thing that I didn’t like about this anime:

First of, the poo jokes. In the anime, there is this rooster that is always there and they used it for poo jokes…. really…. poo jokes…. wow. This made me cringe a lot. This character is present and important in the manga but not as present and, or course, there is no poo jokes -_-‘

The second thing that I didn’t like was the ending. (I’m not sure if I’m satisfied with the manga ending but it’s still 10x better than the anime one…) Like I had said in one of my updates, this anime has a ”Go read the manga” type of ending. The kind that makes me want to destroy something… And what a ”go read the manga” ending that is. They tried to make a gathering of all the characters with a shit reason, it made me quite mad. I was thinking what the hell is going on until the end.

So here is the conclusion: read the manga if you can. If you are a lazy potato or you just want to see how it is without reading, go on ahead and watch the anime but be prepared for the ending. I loved this anime. The romance was quite nice and special (But I would go to Yamaken anytime o3o ) But of course, I would read the manga instead.

4 thoughts on “Tonari no Kaibutsu-kun (Quick Review)

  1. I have read the manga and watch the anime… I don’t like both the ends… Just because I wanted for Sasahara to be with Natsume… I think they only focus on the main characters most of time… ~This get me really mad~

    Like

  2. I remember I watched this anime when it first aired and read part of the manga, but I got turned off after a while by the whole “I love you, but I don’t love you” situations. Haru is cute too, but he lost his charm after a while. I agree with you that Yamaken was overall a better guy to go for and follow ! There’s a serious second main guy syndrome going on when I think about this show…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

